CMM home

NEW – Thanks to Stephan Rachel (Chair) and Jeffrey Mccallum from the University of Melbourne and Julie Karel and Meera Parish from Monash University for their organisation of yet another amazing Condensed Matter and Materials Meeting (Wagga 2019).  It was the 43rd meeting in the series and the 33rd to be held at the popular Charles Sturt University convention centre.

You can find some images and details of the meeting if you go to the Past “Wagga” years – images and tributes drop-down menu and click on Wagga 2019.

Now you can start preparing your talks and posters for the 44th Annual Condensed Matter and Materials Meeting which will be held at Rotorua in New Zealand from Tuesday 4th to Friday 7th February 2020.

Vale – “Lou” Vance
Long-time “Wagga” participants will be saddened to learn of the passing of ANSTO Chief Research Scientist, Eric “Lou” Vance.

HELPCall for images, reports and anecdotes from previous Meetings

Aim of the group:

Apart from the occasional need to provide representation for Australian CMM scientists, the aim of the group is to organise the annual CMM “Wagga” meeting which is most often held in February at the Wagga Wagga campus of the Charles Sturt University. This is an informal, low-cost meeting at which students and early career researchers are encouraged to present their work and gain experience in chairing sessions. There is a special emphasis on poster sessions and, since 2003, participants have been invited to submit their work as refereed (“E1” category), on-line publications that can be accessed on the national Australian Institute of Physics web site

The group has long been recognised as a topical group of the Australian Institute of Physics with representation at its annual council meeting. Since 2007 the Materials Division ( of the Royal Australian Chemical Institute (RACI) has also become formally involved in “Wagga”. This is in keeping with the agreement entered into by the AIP and the RACI whereby each institute is officially recognised as a ‘cognate society’ of the other.

Organisation of the annual CMM (“Wagga”) meeting

The responsibility for the organisation of the annual CMM meeting is rotated through groups of CMM scientists based at a number of academic and research institutions.

Since the first meeting in 1977, the Australian organising committees have involved contributions from ANSTO, ANU, CSIRO Clayton, CSIRO Lindfield, Monash, QUT, RMIT, Sydney, Australia Synchrotron, UNSW, UNSW Canberra, UTS, & Wollongong. On eight occasions, the meeting has moved across the Tasman Sea to New Zealand and on two occasions it has been incorporated into the Australian Institute of Physics Congress.

No membership fees or subscriptions are involved!

You don’t need to become a member of the CMM Group.  There are no membership fees involved.   Just become a regular participant at the annual CMM Meeting.  There will be a big smile on your face when you see how little you have to pay for full registration plus all meals and accommodation (just $400 for students attending the recent meetings).  If you are a full time student, don’t forget to check with your local AIP or RACI branch for the possibility of additional financial support.

Who should attend the annual CMM (“Wagga”) meeting?

If you feel that your work falls into the broad scope of CMM, then you are heartily invited to attend. We understand that researchers have an increasing number of demands placed on their time and, for this reason, prefer to attend conferences that focus on their particular area of research.  However, the “Wagga” community welcomes contributions on a wide range of CMM research and would encourage specialist groups to send at least some representation to the annual CMM meeting.  We want to hear what everyone is doing and young researchers will benefit greatly from an exposure to the full palette of CMM topics and research techniques.